THE COLOSSAL GO EXTREME! LEATHER BLACK VOLUM’ EXPRESS REVIEW

Welcome to #MARIESMAKEUPMONDAYS!

Today I wanted to share a short review of my new favourite mascara by Maybelline. The Colossal Go Extreme! Leather Black Volum’ Express has been around for some time. It has actually been in my own collection for about 2 months, but it was only recently that I pulled it out and layered it on my lashes for the first time.

I’d previously been using Maybelline’s Lash Sensational (which is AMAZING), so I was initially a bit peeved to be swapping things up and kind of wished I’d stocked up on Lash Sensational when I’d had the chance. Anyway, life goes on, no matter which mascara you have to use, so I went ahead and applied The Colossal Go Extreme! Leather Black.

Within seconds of my lashes touching the bristles of the mascara brush, I could tell I’d been hasty with my judgement. For some reason I didn’t consider the fact that The Colossal Go Extreme! Leather Black could be better than Lash Sensational… but dare I say, it is!

The two mascaras are different – let’s get that straight before I start comparing the two. Lash Sensational has a plastic layer reveal brush that captures even the tiniest of lashes, whereas The Colossal Go Extreme! has a thick and fluffy double pump wand.

IMG_6195

Nevertheless, both mascaras are able to provide a similar outcome. They create volume and add a huge amount of thickness. You can get at the root a lot easier with Lash Sensational, but you’re more able to build a ‘fake’ looking lash with The Colossal Go Extreme Leather Black. I personally like my lashes to look long and thick yet separated and almost spider-like (which I know goes against everything some women want).

IMG_6203

The natural look, at least on lashes, doesn’t really appeal to me if I’m honest. I like my upper eyelashes to create an impact and open up my eyes, even on the days I’m not wearing a full face. I NEVER use a brown mascara, as I believe the blacker the better…


What do you like to see in a mascara?

Which is your current favourite?

 Get involved using the comments section below 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 16.59.03


5 thoughts on “THE COLOSSAL GO EXTREME! LEATHER BLACK VOLUM’ EXPRESS REVIEW

  1. I absolutely love the Lash Sensational mascara! I have previously used the original colossal mascara but prefer the Lash Sensational…definitely need to give this one a go as I love Maybelline’s mascaras 🙂
    Jess || beautifulbreakable.com

    1. Me too! I’m not a fan of the original colossal either, but the leather black one really seems to lengthen my lashes well! I’d love to hear your thoughts when you try it 🙂 x

Chat with Make Me Up Marie! Leave a comment...