BARGAIN BUY: WANGSAURA MAANGE BRUSHES (AMAZON)

Welcome to #TREATSOFTUESDAY!

On Wednesday 20th April I received an email from my best girlfriend, asking if I’d like to get in on one of her bargain buys. She was browsing Amazon and came across a seemingly good deal on some makeup brushesΒ (which were on offer for Β£1.80 at the time but are now Β£4.15). She very kindly thought of me and upon receiving my excitable reply, ordered us a pack each.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 12.46.00

Today I thought I’d share my opinion on these brushes with you. This is partly because I share almost everything I buy with you, but also because there doesn’t seem to be many current blogger reviews on popular Amazon/Ebay brush sellers. Amazon and Ebay are rife with cheap cosmetic items, which is mainly great, but also worrying as it can be hard to filter through the sh*t to get to the good stuff.

DSC_0717

Kathryn popped over for some dinner one evening shortly after the brushes had been delivered. We opened them together and felt the tips of each and every brush, carefully reading their uses (which are helpfully labeled on the handles). We counted 20 brushes in each pack, and were generally happy with the quality.

On some of the brushes there is visible glue where the product has been put together, which isn’t exactly what we want but also isn’t the end of the world. The brush hairs are synthetic and come in all different shapes and sizes. In this pack there are lip brushes, eyeliner brushes, sponge brushes, eyeshadow brushes, concealer brushes, nose contour brushes, mascara brushes and so on…

The only things missing are face brushes, but that’s not something we expected from buying this product anyway. What we did expect, though, is the following:

  • Suitable for professional use or home use
  • A professional quality brush set which includes all the basics you need for daily applications
  • Easy to stick powder, natural color, rendering uniform
  • With proper care, your brushes can be enjoyed for years
  • We pick the brush in each packaging individually, convenient for you take & use

Those of you that visited the link provided in the first paragraph will know that these five pointers were used as a product description on the Amazon seller’s page. Of course, a good product description should be accurate, honest and professional. Set aside the fact that some of the writing doesn’t make sense and it all sounded pretty good to me.

DSC_0738

HOWEVER (how many of you knew that was coming?)… I would have to strongly disagree with some of the claims the seller made. Firstly, these brushes are not ones I would expect a professional makeup artist to use. This is simply because they’re not up to a high enough standard, in terms of the finished product (visible glue, really?) and also the products durability, which leads me to my next point.

These brushes are unlikely to last years as suggested, even if properly cared for. This is mainly because of the glue, which is a shame because the shape and texture of the brushes are impressive (particularly the nose shadow brush – my front-runner in this collection), but it is also down to the fact that some of the bristles do fall out from time to time.

DSC_0761

What do I like about these brushes, I hear you ask? Well, they work really well with powder products. They don’t steal or swallow up the makeup your using, providing great colour pay-off. It is a vast and varied collection for just Β£4.15 and some of the nibs are really small, enabling you to be super precise.

They came individually wrapped in plastic packaging. I loved unwrapping each one and revealing what it was designed to do, but would have liked a bag or something to put them into afterwards. I’m using one of my pencil pots to store them in right now and they’re looking pretty cute on my white, black & pink themed dressing table.

DSC_0765

All in all, I’m happy I’ve got them but could live without them. I think Kathryn & I had a touch getting all 20 for the discounted Β£1.80 that we did, but we both agree anything over Β£7+ postage & packaging would be too much. Luckily for you, these are currently only Β£4.15 and I’m sure they’ll go down in price again sometime soon. If you like the look of them, keep an eye out!

DSC_0794

DSC_0775


Have you ever ordered makeup/cosmetic products on Ebay or Amazon? Was it a hit or miss? Let me know using the comments section below!

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 16.59.03


8 thoughts on “BARGAIN BUY: WANGSAURA MAANGE BRUSHES (AMAZON)

  1. Interestingly, the brush actually looked appealing to sight. If you hadn’t pointed out the flaws, I wouldn’t have spotted them. Still, it was a good bargain πŸ™‚

Chat with Make Me Up Marie! Leave a comment...

